Church Council News

At the Church AGM on Sunday 18th April, the congregation unanimously re-elected Luke Stacey and Evie Norris to serve as Churchwardens for the next year. The Church Council welcomes Helen Macauley (The Chequers) for the first time whilst Charles Sawbridge (North Street), Richard Sawbridge (Bartholomew Farm) and Davina Brown (The Chequers) were all re-elected. They join existing Church Council members Mary Stacey, Stewart Tate and Jill Chapman.


Anglican Church of SS Simon & Jude, Castlethorpe

The Church of St Simon and St Jude stands in an elevated position in the centre of the village within the confines of the castle. The Church was originally Anglo-Saxon but what remains now is predominately Norman. It is comparatively small in size measuring 14 metres North to South and 24 metres East to West. The tower stands 12.5 metres. It used to be considerably higher than this, but it fell down in 1729. Some of the bells were sold to rebuild the tower, thus only one bell now remains. Within the church there is a large memorial to the Tyrell family as well as the gravestone of Sir Francis Drake’s grandson.

The church is very expensive to maintain and a number of improvements are also planned. A major fund-raiser for the church is the biannual Castlethorpe Duck Race

Sunday Services

Sung Eucharist
Our main service is held at 9.30am on Sundays and is a Sung Eucharist. It is open to all ages, families are encouraged.
Every Sunday at 9:30 AM for 1 hour

Evensong is held second and fourth Sunday of each month at 6.00pm.
Every second and fourth Sunday at 6:00 PM for 1 hour

Tuesday Service

Tuesday evening Eucharist
Every Tuesday at 7:00 PM for 35 minutes

Contact Fr Gary Ecclestone Telephone 337936

More information at SS Simon & Jude


Castlethorpe Charity for the Poor/Church

The Castlethorpe Charity for the Poor/Church was constituted in 1894 by Lady (Dame Bridget) Tyrrill to provide for both the Poor of Castlethorpe and for the Church and is registered with the Charities Commission under no. 233681.

A copy of the 1894 document shows that the Trustees may use their discretion to provide for items such as “…coal, clothing, linen, bedding, fuel, tools, medical or aid in Sickness, Food or other articles in kind…” and “…temporary relief in money, by way of loan or otherwise, in cases of unexpected loss or sudden destitution…”

It must be remembered that this was set up in an era well before we had a welfare state as we know it today and would have been an important safety net for those who might have benefited after 1894. While it is difficult to envisage anyone falling into this category today, the Charity continues to administer the income in the spirit of the original intent and determines from time-to-time the criteria for the beneficiaries. Currently this is that a potential beneficiary satisfies that they will have lived in the village for at least 2 years, be 60 years of age or over and live alone, but as from this year the age of entitlement will be raised to 65 years of age with an additional proviso that beneficiaries are not working.

The Charity’s income is derived principally from the land known as Poor’s Piece which is situated immediately after Lodge Cottages on the right-hand side of the Wolverton Road when going out of the village towards Haversham. It consists of 18.99 acres of agricultural land. Other periodic income is from a wayleave from power suppliers who have a service pole on the land.

The Trustees of the Charity are drawn from the village of Castlethorpe. The constitution says that one “ex-officio” trustee will be the Vicar of Castlethorpe parish and the other seven trustees are a combination of four “representative” trustees nominated by the Parish Council and three “cooptative” trustees drawn from the Village. The current Parish representative trustees are: Davina Brown, Lawrence Chapman, Peter Grigson and Evangeline Norris. The co-opted trustees are: David Brooks, Amy Pearson and Charles Sawbridge.

The trustees meet twice a year and have distribute the income in December of each year.

Any enquiries to the Trustees should be directed to the current Clerk/Treasurer to the Trustees, Sandra Neal at 14 South Street, Castlethorpe, or by email to or phone 01908 510787.


Hanslope Methodists

1st Sunday of month 9am Holy Communion
Other Sundays Service at 10.30am
Sunday School every Sunday at 10.30am

Christmas Services
Christmas Eve service with Holy Communion at 11.30pm
Christmas Day All Age Service at 9am (Rev Stephen Mosedale)

Contact Rev Mindy Bell Telephone 614411

More information at Hanslope Methodists


Hanslope Gospel Hall

Sundays 11am Breaking of Bread, 5.45pm Prayer Meeting, 6pm Gospel Meeting
Tuesdays 7.30pm Prayer & Ministry, Prayer & Bible Study or Missionary Prayer (rotates)
Wednesdays 6.30pm Children’s Meeting
Saturday 7.30pm Ministry Meeting

More information at Hanslope Gospel Hall


Roman Catholic Services

St Mary Magdalene, Stony Stratford

Mass times Saturday 6.30pm Sunday 9.15am

St Francis de Sale, Wolverton

Mass times Sunday 11am and 5.30pm

For services at Wolverton and Stony Stratford, contact Fr Bernard Barrett Telephone 613162

More information at St Francis de Sale & St Mary Magdalene

Our Lady Help of Christians & St Lawrence, Olney

Mass times Saturday 6.30pm Sunday 10.30am

Officiating Priest: Fr Malcolm Bull Telephone 01234 350628
Parish Co-ordinator: Sr Rita Scott DHS Telephone 01234 711212

Diocesan website at Northampton Diocese